Need an Answer?
Monday - Thursday - 8am-9pm
Friday 8am-5pm
Email lwnixon@butlercc.edu
Text Librarian
316-448-2225
Comments (0)
Search Now
Choose your Subject
_____________________________________________________________________
Need to find a specific journal? Try Journal Finder
Credo Reference Smart Research Starts Here!
______________________________________________________________________
AGRICULTURE
- AgricolaContaining bibliography records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Library, AGRICOLA provides access to more than 4.9 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
ART
- Annenberg LearnerAnnenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.
- Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)This database provides comprehensive indexing and abstract for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Art Abstracts' international coverage encompasses periodicals published in England, France, Germany, Italian, Spanish and Dutch, focused on a broad range of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic art, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)EBSCO
- Art Project -Powered by Google(Requires Google Chrome)Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces
- CARLI Digital CollectionCARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections uses the CONTENTdm digital asset management tool to describe and deliver digital representations of myriad special collections including printed and manuscript materials, images, and sound recordings. It also guarantees researchers
AUTO REPAIR
- ALLDATA Online (on campus only)ALLDATA Online is the world's most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
- Auto Repair Reference Center:Auto Repair Reference Center (AARC) contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair Procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the products on a regular basis. All of the content ARRC has been created by ASE certified technicians.
Video Tutorial http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=dqWv9Lpp_RE - Jonko Auto Repair Online
BIOGRAPHY
- Current BiographyPartially funded by Mr. Dana R. Hilmer since 2010.
Coverage dates: 1940+
Search the complete content of the acclaimed print resource Current Biography, plus get photographs!Current Biography Illustrated (TM) reflects the entire contents of the printed monthly Current Biography—a trusted resource in library collections since 1940. This is where you will find reliable information about the people making tomorrow’s headlines plus historical figures back to World War II.
BUSINESS
- Business and Company Resource CenterGale - Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
- Business Source PremierFull text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1988. Business Source premier's full-text coverage includes: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Regional Business News:Regional Business News includes: daily updates, comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for nearly 100 sources.
- Small Business Reference Center:This resource offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information for business owners: interviews, lessons learned, lectures and how to videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
Video Tutorial Link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36aqI2DAc48&feature=player_detailpage - Vocational and Career Collection:provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trades and industry related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
CURRENT & CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES
- Facts.comIncludes encyclopedia, almanac and curriculum tools. The Issues & Controversies On File database provides a concise and thoroughly researched summary of issues and controversies in today's news, including historical background on the issues and a synopsis of all sides of the debate.
- Issues & Controversies - Facts on FileExplores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Contexta virtual library of resources of today's hottest social issues.
- TOPICsearch:This current event database includes: political & economic issues, scientific discoveries, popular topics, controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspaper, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- Web News:EBSCO
ECONOMICS
- World BankThe World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
EDUCATION
- Annenberg LearnerAnnenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.
- Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)Education Abstracts covers subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and more. Content includes: Indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983; Indexing for books on education published after 1995.
- Educator's Reference CompleteThis database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Educator's Reference Complete also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.
- ERIC - EBSCOERIC, the education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and records the links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- Inside Higher Edis the free daily news Web site for higher education professionals. At Inside Higher Ed you'll find something for every member of the campus community.
- LearningExpressLibrary and Job & Career Acceleratorincludes Nursing and Allied Health: Entrance Test Preparation, Licensure and Certificaton Test Preparation, Nursing Continuing Education Courses, and Job & Career Accelerator.
- Professional Development Collection:Professional Development Collection includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High school Journal, and many others. This database also contains nearly 230 educational reports.
- Teacher Reference Center:(TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexing in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
eBOOKS
- ABC-CLIO eBooks
- Book Collection: NonfictionThis is a cross-curricular database; it contains informative abstract and searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryReference Electronic Books (E-Books) - Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, and Social Science.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- Britannica Online Academic Edition(ad free) - Dictionary, World Atlas, Thesaurus.
- Columbia Encyclopedia(Bartleby.com sponsored)
- Credo ReferenceA great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are.
- Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management (For on Campus Use Only)Source Author/Editor: David Schwartz (Ed.) (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)
Copyright: 2006 - Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaEBSCO
EN ESPANOL
- Fuente AcadémicaFuente Académica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological science, economics, history, laws, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
- MedicLatina:This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and PDF full text for 130 peer- reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephology, biomedicine, clinical research, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
ENVIRONMENTAL
- GreenFILEMultidisciplinary GreenFILE draws on the connection between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,100 records.
- GREENRGale - Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
GENEALOGY
- Gale Geneology Connect
- Heritage Quest OnlineSearch Census, Books, PERSI, Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank and U.S. Serial Set.
HISTORY
- American History in VideoAmerican History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThe Library of Congress - enhancing access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). National Endowment for the Humanities
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americans written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A chronological Guide to Workers Printed in Europe Relating to the Americans, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
- History Reference CenterEBSCO
- Kansas MemoryPrimary sources from the Kansas Historical Society It includes more than 160,000 images of truly unique
photos, maps, diaries, government records, posters, pamphlets, artifacts, films, audio recordings, and much more from the collections of the Kansas Historical Society. The collections span the entire history of Kansas from pre-settlement to the present with thousands of items from the Kansas Territory. - MasterFILE Premier:MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general references, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
- World History in Videois a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Alexander Street Press
JOURNAL/MAGAZINE (General & Reference)
- Academic OneFileGale - includes: magazine titles and professional journals available in full text.
- Academic Search PremierEBSCO - includes magazine titles and Professional Journals in full text.
- Directory of Open Access Journals- DOAJThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- EBSCO- Search Articles & eBooksAcademic Search Premier, Agricola, Alt HealthWatch, Art Full Text, Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Business Source Premier, Computer Source, Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost, Current Biography Illustrated, eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), ERIC, GreenFILE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, History Reference Center, Legal Collection, Library Literature & Information Science Index (H.W. Wilson), Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Military & Government Collection, News (AP, UPI, etc.), Newspaper Source Plus, Professional Development Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Regional Business News, Religion and Philosophy Collection, Small Business Reference Center, Teacher Reference Center, TOPICsearch, Vocational and Career Collection, Web News
- Expanded Academic ASAPGale - is comprised of more than 3,500 indexed and full-text titles — of which 2,100 are peer-reviewed — in all disciplines with more than 20 years of backfile coverage and an intuitive interface that expedites successful searches.
- GaleSearch all Gale databases at once.
- General OneFileGale - is a comprehensive periodical resource that puts more than 60 million articles at your fingertips with a single search query. More than 11,000 titles and backfile coverage from 1980 — from mainstream to specialized sources — and an intuitive search interface make this an unequaled source for virtually every popular, business and professional topic.
- Look Smart / Find ArticlesFeatured Publications from the Web's Largest Free Articles Database.
- MasterFILE Premier:MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general references, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
- Professional CollectionGale - A customized selection of journals selected by your institution powered by InfoTrac.
- ProQuestIncludes all databases
- Research LibraryProQuest - Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications
- State Library of Kansas: Explore Our ResourcesEnter your topic and find books, information and more. To access the individual databases click on Explore Our Resources – Available 24/7 to Kansas Residents
K-12
- MAS Ultra - School EditionThis comprehensive database contains full text for nearly 500 popular magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Career & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discovery, History Today, Nation, National Reviews, New republic, New scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents.
- Middle Search Plus:Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
LIBRARY SCIENCE
- Library Literature & Information Science Index (H.W. Wilson)Library Literature & Information Science Index provides comprehensive indexing of articles from key library’s and information science periodicals. This database encompasses some 390 journals, over 300 books annually, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school these and pamphlets. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
- Library, Information Science & Technology AbstractsEBSCO
LITERATURE
- Literary Reference Center:Literary Reference Center contains full text information from major respected reference works, books and literary journals. Literary Reference Center contains full test from more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author
biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios); 450 literary criticism; more than 693,000 book reviews; more than 78,400 classics and contemporary poems; more than 19,700 classics contemporary short stories; more than 6,600 author interviews; more than 8,200 classic texts; and much more.
Video Tutorial Link EBSCO http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/lrc/LiteraryReferenceCenter.html - Literature Resource CenterGale - is your most current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
- NoveList Plus:NoveList Plus contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalk, Recommended Reads and more.
Video Tutorial Link http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/NoveList/NoveListOverview/NoveListOverview.htm
MILITARY & GOVERNMENT
- Military & Government Collection:Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 400 journals. Publications covered in the database include Force Comptroller, Defense Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law, Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PFD, or scanned-in-color.
MUSIC
- American SongAlexander Street Press American Song
- International Music Score Library ProjectWelcome to the portal page of the International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)! We at the IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. For this purpose we have created a music library to provide music scores free of charge to anyone with internet access, with several other projects in planning. IMSLP is also entirely collaborative, and all contributions are greatly welcome.
NEWS/LEGAL
- AP NewsMonitor CollectionEBSCO
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThe Library of Congress - enhancing access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). National Endowment for the Humanities
- Kansas Digital Newspapers
- Legal CollectionLegal Collection offers information countered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
- LegalTracGale - Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac™. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac™ provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
- LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis® is a leading global provider of content-enabled workflow solutions designed specifically for professionals in the legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting, and academic markets.
- Newspaper Source Plus:Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
- NewsstandGale - Infotrac Newsstand
- Wall Street JournalProQuest - Wall Street Journal; Eastern edition Full Text: 1984 - current, Wall Street Journal (Online); New York, N.Y. Full Text: 2010 - current
- Wichita Eagle, TheNewsbank
NURSING/HEALTH
- Alt HealthWatchAlt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and care wellness. It offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals.
- Consumer Health Complete:EBSCO
Video Tutorial Link http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/CHCinterfaceTutorial.html - Health and Wellness Resource CenterGale - is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. The Health & Wellness Resource Center features a fully updated, intuitive interface -- providing multiple pathways to key information. Its browser style format lets you browse the latest news, review a set of subject areas, review and select a particular resource, or search across the entire database.
- Health Reference Center - AcademicGale - This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.
- Health Source - Consumer EditionThis database also includes searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health references books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Education contains more than 9,900 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam- Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Education covers topics such as AID's, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, etc.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines including: full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journals of Advanced Nursing, Journal of child & Adolescent, Psychiatric Nursing, Journals of Clinical Nursing, Journals of Community Health nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing inquiry, and many more.
- Medline - EBSCOMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, per-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISLINE, SPACELINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICLINE, and HealthSTAR.
- Micromedix Gateway - Healthcare- Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
- Oxford Medicine OnlineAccess to Oxford Handbook of Clinical Skills in Adult Nursing, Oxford Handbook of Critical Care Nursing, & Oxford Handbook of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health SourceMedical Science
PSYCHOLOGY
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection:Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental process, anthropology, observational & experimental methods.
RELIGION/PHILOSOPHY
- Religion and Philosophy Collection:Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, Biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, and political philosophy, philosophy of language, more philosophy and the history of philosophy.
TECHNOLOGY
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)Applied science and Technology Abstracts contains citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management. Coverage for this database spans from 1983 to the present.
- Computer SourceFeaturing nearly 300 full-text periodicals covering topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the internet, Computer source provides a balance off full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.
Citation Help
- EasyBib - for citationsUse for quick citations or register for an EasyBib account to make citations and work cited pages.
- APA Citation Style Guide
- MLA Citation Style Guide
- Other Citation Styles
Trials - Try today!
- Gale - Science in Context
- Music Online - PremiumAlexander Street Press
Contact Information - Ronda Holt
Links:
Profile & Guides
Profile & Guides


Loading...
