Reference eBooks
Need an Answer
Business
- American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia, TheABC-CLIO
- Encyclopedia of Small BusinessThis convenient and exhaustive 2-vol. print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners.
- Student's Guide to Financial Literacy, TheRobert E. Lawless
Education
- College Blue Book, TheGuide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
Encyclopedias
English/Writing
Environment
- Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North AmericaThis guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the speciesand a summary section.
- Environmental Issues: Essential Primary SourcesA focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
- Environmental Science : In ContextProvides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Cross-curricular in nature, the title supports both basic and advanced curricula in earth and environmental science, physics, chemistry, and biology, as well as general science, history, government, and the social sciences.
- Great Debates in American Environmental HistoryExamines the most important and controversial environmental issues in the history of the United States, from the Colonial period to the present. Describes the issues, the stakeholders of various positions, and both the immediate outcome of the debate, and the long-term consequences of the result.
Health
- AutismProvides a short accessible introduction to the science and medicine behind autism.
An electronic book in the ABC-CLIO eBooks Online database. - CancerSalem Health
- Encyclopedia of Addictive Drugs, TheDescribes numerous drugs of abuse, including both pharmaceutical and natural products. Begins with a discussion of federal drug scheduling and drug categories. Individual drug descriptions include: correct pronunciation, nicknames or street names, legal status, historical and present uses and misuses, abuse factors, interactions with other drugs, and findings of cancer risks and birth defects.
- Food and Nutrition Controversies Today : a Reference Guide.Explores the most controversial issues concerning food and nutrition today, from mad cow disease and the latest E.coliscare to bottled water and genetically enhanced food.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative MedicineThe encyclopedia identifies 150 types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.
- Gale Encyclopedia of CancerIncludes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Diets : A Guide to Health and NutritionCovers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic DisordersProvides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
- Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineIncludes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental HealthProvides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
- Infectious Diseases & ConditionsSalem Press
- Infectious Diseases : In ContextCovers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases. Includes articles on how such diseases impact trade and commerce, travel, and the future of industrialized and impoverished nations.
- NutritionA brief history of nutrition and the future of nutrigenomics -- Basics and principles of nutrition and its practitioners -- Nutrition guidelines and the government's role.
- Sexual Health: a Reference Handbook.David E. Newton
ABC-CLIO - Steroids a new look at performance-enhancing drugsby Rob Beamish.
History
- Datapedia of the United States : American History in NumbersPresents data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation. Covers the history of the United States from 1790 to 2007 and includes select data projections through 2050.
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaA three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
- Encyclopedia of PoliticsThis two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic HistoryDesigned to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior?
- Gale Encyclopedia of World History : GovernmentsProvides a broad overview of national governments throughout history, explaining their structures and histories, key players and events, and how governments effect, and are affected by, social change.
- Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth CenturySalem Press History
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular CultureIncludes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
Law & Crime
- Bill of RightsMulti-volume series that highlights the living and breathing nature of the Bill of Rights. Traces evolution of the freedoms codified in the first 10 amendments to the U.S. Constitution throughout American history to the present.
- Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning - 2nd ed.2nded. Detroit: UXL, 2008. 3 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Encyclopedia of Law EnforcementExamines all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. Includes discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework.
- Encyclopedia of PoliticsThis two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
- Gale Encyclopedia of World History : GovernmentsProvides a broad overview of national governments throughout history, explaining their structures and histories, key players and events, and how governments effect, and are affected by, social change.
- Sexual Crime: a Reference Handbook.Caryn E. Neumann
ABC-CLIO - U.S. Border SecurityJudith Warner
ABC-CLIO
Literature
- Contemporary NovelistsConcise discussions of the lives and principal works of contemporary novelists, written by subject experts.
- Contemporary PoetsConcise discussions of the lives and principal works of poets from around the world, written by subject experts.
- Drama for Students (Volume 17)Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
- Drama for Students (Volume 18)Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
- Drama for Students (Volume 19)Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
- Drama for Students (Volume 20)Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
- Nonfiction Classics for Students : Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Nonfiction WorksProvides critical overviews on the most frequently studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs. Includes discussions of literary format, themes, and structure.
- Dracula - Critical Insights : WorksSalem Literature
Multicultural Studies
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaA three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaGale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
- Gay and Lesbian Rights: a Reference Book.By David E. Newton
ABC-CLIO - Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life - 2nd ed.Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby, eds. 2nded. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 2906 pp. 5 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Music
Nursing
- AutismProvides a short accessible introduction to the science and medicine behind autism.
An electronic book in the ABC-CLIO eBooks Online database. - CancerSalem Health
- Encyclopedia of Addictive Drugs, TheDescribes numerous drugs of abuse, including both pharmaceutical and natural products. Begins with a discussion of federal drug scheduling and drug categories. Individual drug descriptions include: correct pronunciation, nicknames or street names, legal status, historical and present uses and misuses, abuse factors, interactions with other drugs, and findings of cancer risks and birth defects.
- Food and Nutrition Controversies Today : a Reference Guide.Explores the most controversial issues concerning food and nutrition today, from mad cow disease and the latest E.coliscare to bottled water and genetically enhanced food.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative MedicineThe encyclopedia identifies 150 types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.
- Gale Encyclopedia of CancerIncludes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Diets : A Guide to Health and NutritionCovers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic DisordersProvides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
- Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineIncludes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental HealthProvides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
- Infectious Diseases & ConditionsSalem Press
- Infectious Diseases : In ContextCovers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases. Includes articles on how such diseases impact trade and commerce, travel, and the future of industrialized and impoverished nations.
- NutritionA brief history of nutrition and the future of nutrigenomics -- Basics and principles of nutrition and its practitioners -- Nutrition guidelines and the government's role.
- Oxford Handbook of Adult NursingThe Oxford Handbook of Adult Nursing gives expert and practical advice on all aspects of the nurse's role.
- Oxford Handbook of Critical Care NursingThis title provides nurses working in Critical Care (including intensive and high dependency care) with an easily accessible guide to the knowledge and nursing care skills needed in critical care.
- Oxford Handbook of Orthopaedic and Trauma NursingProviding busy practitioners with the information they need to deliver care, and nursing students with a clear overview of the field, this handbook is an easily accessible, practical, and comprehensive guide to all aspects of practice.
- Oxford Medicine OnlineAccess to Oxford Handbook of Clinical Skills in Adult Nursing, Oxford Handbook of Critical Care Nursing, & Oxford Handbook of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing
Psychology
- 21st Century Psychology : A Reference HandbookHighlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of psychology. Provides material of interest for students from all corners of psychological studies, whether their interests be in the biological, cognitive, developmental, social, or clinical arenas.
- How Psychology Applies to Everyday Life.Provides the answers that psychologists have for common psychological questions regarding everyday human behavior.
Religion
- Melton's Encyclopedia of American ReligionsComprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
- World ReligionsThe Times World Religions presents a fully-comprehensive survey of the origins, developments, beliefs and distribution of the world's religions. Full-colour maps, pictures and a thorough yet accessible text combine to form a unique global overview of human faith and a key to understanding its role in the modern world.
Science
- BiologyExplains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science. Discusses critical issues such as embryogenesis and commercial applications of research in biology and addresses ethical issues.
- Chemical Elements, 2nd edition -David E. Newton. Kathleen J. Edgar, ed. 2nded. Detroit: UXL, 2010. 1003 pp. 3 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Basics of BiologyIntroduction to the science of biology. Details the history of biology, as well as many of the field's basic theories and concepts for students. Demonstrates the modern tools and techniques that biologists use today.
- Basics of ChemistryEncompasses many different topics in and approaches to introductory chemistry. Discusses broad areas of chemistry including organic chemistry, biochemistry, environmental chemistry, and industrial chemistry. Historical developments of chemical concepts are covered.
- World of Earth ScienceThis new title in Gale's World Of...Series is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers and issues relating to topics in earth science. World of Earth Science's encyclopedic approach offers approximately 650 entries in a convenient A-Z format, cross-reference headings and is written in easy to understand language.
Social Science
- Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary SourcesA focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social IssuesMichael Shally-Jensen, editor.
ABC-CLIO - Encyclopedia of Race and RacismExamines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
- Environmental Issues: Essential Primary SourcesA focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
- Family in Society: Essential Primary SourcesProvides primary source documents focused family in society in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.
- Gale Encyclopedia of PsychologyThis single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
- Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary SourcesA focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
- Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary SourcesA collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
- How Psychology Applies to Everyday Life.Provides the answers that psychologists have for common psychological questions regarding everyday human behavior.
- Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary SourcesThese volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
- Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary SourcesProvides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.
- Medicine, Health, and Bioethics: Essential Primary SourcesA focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
- Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources
- Substance Abuse: a Reference Handbook.David E. Newman
ABC-CLIO - Basics of SociologyProvides an introduction to core concepts in sociology. Presents both classic studies and current references to illustrate sociological concepts. Examines what sociology is, why sociology is important, and why we study it.
- Terrorism: Essential Primary SourcesThese volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
United States History
- Datapedia of the United States : American History in NumbersPresents data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation. Covers the history of the United States from 1790 to 2007 and includes select data projections through 2050.
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaA three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic HistoryDesigned to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior?
- Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth CenturySalem Press History
- Presidents from Adams through Polk, 1825-1825: debating the issues in pro and con primary documents[compiled by] David A. Smith.
- Presidents from Hayes through McKinley: debating the issues in pro and con primary documents /[compiled by] Amy H. Sturgis.
- Presidents from Taylor through Grant, 1849-1877: debating the issues in pro and con primary documents.[compiled by] Jeffrey W. Coker.
- Presidents from Washingtom through Monroe, 1789-1825: debating the issues in pro and con primary documents[compiled by] Amy H. Sturgis.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular CultureIncludes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
World History
- Daily Life through World History in Primary DocumentsLawrence Morris, General Editor
ABC-CLIO - Encyclopedia of PoliticsThis two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
- Gale Encyclopedia of World History : GovernmentsProvides a broad overview of national governments throughout history, explaining their structures and histories, key players and events, and how governments effect, and are affected by, social change.
- Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth CenturySalem Press History
Trials - Try today!
- Gale - Science in Context
- Music Online - PremiumAlexander Street Press
eBook Collections
- AddAll eBooksMeta search 30+ eBook sites with one click
- Book Collection: NonfictionThis is a cross-curricular database; it contains informative abstract and searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.
- Butler Community College Yearbooks This collection includes the college yearbooks published as The Grizzly Growl (1928-1966) and The Grizzly (1966-1995). The Grizzly has been published in magazine format since 1996.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection
- FeedbooksFeedbooks distributes over 3,000,000 books every month to smartphones, tablets and eReaders.
- Free Books to ReadAudio Library: this 6000 book online library is free for your use. This library uses "Text to Speech" audio technology to allow your computer to read your selections aloud.
- Google BooksFind the perfect book for your purposes and discover new ones that interest you.
- InkmeshEbook search engine to find free ebooks and compare ebook prices for the Kindle, iPhone, Nook, Sony Reader and more!
- Kansas EZ LibraryLook here for downloadable eBooks.
- Open Library Go to Sign Up in the upper right corner, and create an account (enter an email address, create a username and password).
You'll get a confirmation email with a link to verify your account. - Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 36,000 free ebooks to download to your PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.
- The Online Books Page- Archive: General, Foreign and Specialty Online Books.
- World eBook LibraryWhere the world goes to read.
Contact Information - Ronda Holt
Links:
Profile & Guides
Profile & Guides

Loading...
