LibGuides: Articles & Databases: Articles & Databases

Quick Links

General Research Databases

Academic Search Premier - EBSCO
This database's collections contains information in nearly every area of academic study. The collection contains peer-reviewed scholarly journals, magazines, several major newspapers, and some eBooks, conference proceedings, and government publications.

EBSCO - provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975.
Academic OneFile - GALE
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest is a collection of many databases that provide access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and other publications.

Exploring Issues

Issues & Controversies
Features timely, in-depth articles covering complex, hot-button issues in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale
Explores opposing sides of the most important issues, helping learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. With over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more, students will be prepared to argue any side of the issue.

Newspapers

Butler Lantern
Link to Butler's Award Winning student newspaper.

Newspaper Source Plus:- EBSCO
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Wall Street Journal
An American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper
Chronicle of Higher Education
In-depth and breaking news, opinion, advice, and jobs for professors, deans, and others in higher education from The Chronicle of Higher Education
New York Times
How to Register
1. Click on the provided link and login. Search for and click the listing for "Butler Community College"
2. Upon clicking on the provided link, you will be prompted to either log in with your NYTimes.com account credentials, or create an account using your campus email address and a password of your choosing.
3 Click the “Create My Account” button at the bottom of the page and you will have simultaneously registered with NYTimes.com and secured a “pass” for access to the site.
4. You will now be able to enjoy NYTimes.com from any location, on any web enabled device, by just logging into NYTimes.com with the same email address and password as above.

For a video walkthrough of activating your academic pass:
Video Walkthrough
US Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream Collection delivers over 1,300 sources of current national and regional news content plus deep archives, spanning print, digital, and broadcast sources. From breaking news to historical context, researchers gain insights into American society, politics, and developments through authoritative reporting.

Statistics / Data

Statista
A statistics portal providing market and consumer data.

The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

In accordance with the Information Quality Act, this Web site contains the Census Bureau’s Statistical Quality Standards, information quality guidelines, and procedures to seek correction of information that does not comply with the information quality guidelines.