LibGuides: Human Sexuality: Social Impact

Listed below are resources showing the perspective from society and the impact it can have on sexuality.

When researching the databases, combine your topics with terms like "policy," "law," or "politics."

Databases

Academic OneFile - GALE
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Premier - EBSCO
Offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. The collection contains peer-reviewed scholarly journals, magazines, several major newspapers, and a limited number of books, conference proceedings, and government publications. The full text of many titles is available, but for some titles, the database includes indexing and abstracts only.
EBSCO - provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale
Explores opposing sides of the most important issues, helping learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. With over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more, students will be prepared to argue any side of the issue.

The following two databases consist of online reference books, but they are searchable within the chosen book.

JSTOR Open Access eBook & Journal
Includes a growing set of permanently open access academic eBooks, journal articles, and research reports.
ABC-CLIO eBooks (Bloomsbury Collection)
Works better with Firefox.

AI tools, like ChatGPT or Gemini, can be helpful study partners. The following ideas are ways to use AI when studying human sexuality:

Discussion Facilitation: If you have discussions or debates in class about sensitive topics related to human sexuality, AI can help you prepare talking points, arguments, and responses to foster constructive dialogue.
Exploring Diversity: Human sexuality is diverse and complex, encompassing various identities, orientations, and experiences. AI can assist you in exploring topics such as LGBTQ+ issues, cultural differences, and intersectionality within the context of sexuality.
Navigating Controversial Topics: Human sexuality often involves controversial or sensitive topics. AI can help you approach these subjects with empathy, respect, and open-mindedness, while also critically examining different perspectives and ethical considerations.