McCormick Math, Science, and Technology Collection
Through the generosity of Dr. Mack McCormick, the collection of science, mathematics and technology books and DVDs are purchased for the students, Faculty, and other library users of Butler Community College.
McCormick Pioneer Women Collection
This Pioneer Women Collection created by Barbara and Mack McCormick in honor of Marietta Slaven McCormick, Julia Hodges Bothwell and Velma Bothwell McCormick, documents the role of women and minorities in the settling of the Great American West. For a full list of the materials you can access the library catalog by typing Pioneer Women in the search.
Dr. McCormick continued his studies at the University of Kansas in 1941 and received a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry. He then attended the University of Illinois and earned a Ph.D. in February of 1951. During his studies, he took time to serve in the United States Marine Corps as part of the World War II 2nd Defense Battalion.
After receiving his Ph.D., Dr. McCormick joined Eli Lilly and Co. in research and development and retired after 30 years with the company. Dr. McCormick now resides in Florence, Oregon and devotes his time to gardening, antique maps, education, and researching and writing his family history.
The McCormick Collections at L.W. Nixon library were established in October, 1991 by Barbara and Mack McCormick in memory of Marietta Slaven McCormick, Julia Hodges Bothwell, and Velma Bothwell McCormick.
The collection is devoted to the roles of women and minorities in the settling of the Great American West. The collection contains more than 500 volumes. The resources listed here are available for your use through the L.W. Nixon Library and the College's other library facilities.
Math Science/Technology Collection
Through the generosity of the McCormick Endowed Fund, many new science, mathematics and technology books are purchased for Butler Community College library circulation to students, faculty, and other library users. The collection contains more than 250 volumes. The resources listed here are available for your use through the L.W. Nixon Library and the College's other library facilities.