LibGuides: eBooks @ Butler Libraries: eBooks for Research

Chat with a Librarian

Semester Chat Hours
Monday - Thursday 8am - 7pm
Friday 8am - 5pm
Summer & Break Chat Hours
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm

eBooks & Audiobooks

Start here for eBooks you can use in papers or assignments. Use the tabs on the left to browse by subject under "eBooks by Subject" and discover popular titles for eBooks and Audiobooks in "Popular eBooks & Audiobooks."

Reference Works

Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, and eBooks for general information and overviews of your topics.

Credo Reference
An easy-to-use collection of hundreds of full-text reference books, images, charts, maps and more covering thousands of topics across all major subject areas.
Gale eBooks
A digital library of reference titles and biographies for research in history, health, business, the arts, multicultural studies, and more.
Britannica Academic Edition
Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, and research tools—plus access to a dictionary, thesaurus, and world atlas.
Salem Press Online eBooks
Access eBooks on literature, history, science, health, careers, and business—great for background research and topic overviews.
SAGE Knowledge eBooks
FOR ACCESS select Sage Knowledge from the list & then select Reference & Academic Books.
A collection of social science reference works, including encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries on topics like sociology, education, and politics.

Academic eBooks

These databases contain complete books that go deep into topics - perfect for research papers and projects when you need information beyond basic facts.

EBSCOhost Ebook
A large collection of academic eBooks that Butler Libraries has purchased. These cover a wide range of subjects across the curriculum.
ProQuest eBook Central
A large collection of full-text eBooks covering subjects like business, technology, science, humanities, and the social sciences.
JSTOR Open Access eBook & Journal
Free, full-text academic eBooks and research materials from trusted publishers—ideal for college-level research in the humanities and social sciences.
ABC-CLIO eBooks (Bloomsbury Collection)
Full-text eBooks and primary sources on a variety of topics including history, culture, and social issues.

Works better with Firefox.