Butler Libraries and Archives has a robust digital and print collection that can meet your personal and professional needs. Our collection includes:
Browse our catalog to find items in our collection. You can request a pick-up location when you reserve or check out materials from either branch. Our librarians deliver between campuses within 48 hours of the request. You will be notified of its arrival via email.
Looking for an item, but you cannot find it at any of our library locations? We can request it for you through an interlibrary loan (ILL).
You can use our catalog to find books, movies, and video games in our collection. You can visit our library catalog from the library homepage by clicking on "Library Catalogs", and then "Butler Libraries (El Dorado and Andover)".
To search, begin by typing in keywords related to the title of an item or an item's topic into the search bar at the top of the page.
Below is an example of catalog results for "Batman".
With each result is different information about the item, such as its location, material type, call number, and status.
If you want to reserve an item that is currently checked out, you can call your library and let us know which item you would like reserved. You will get an email notification from the library once it has been returned and is ready for you to pick up. Alternatively, you can follow the steps below to reserve an item online (place a hold), at your convenience.
You will need to log in to your account in the catalog to place holds.
Butler Libraries and Archives do not charge late fees if an item is returned. Please check your email for notifications from the library close to your due date or call/stop by the library to renew items you want to hold onto for a little bit longer.
If a Library item has not been returned fifty-two (52) days past its due date, library items will be considered lost. When items are lost, a hold will be placed on your Butler account through Accounts Receivable. This hold will prevent you from checking out future items until it is resolved.
Users will be assessed a fee for the cost of the item plus a $10 processing fee through Accounts Receivable.
If you would like to check out an item that is on the opposite campus you are on, you can call the library and let us know which item you'd like brought over. You will receive an email notification once the item arrives (usually within the next day). Alternatively, you can follow the steps below to do this online.
You will need to log in to your account in the catalog.
cloudLibrary is a digital collection of eBooks and audiobooks from the Butler Libraries collection. Browse and borrow bestsellers and titles from large publishers using your computer, tablet, or mobile device. (Note: cloudLibrary is not supported on Kindle Paperwhites or the Kindle e-ink devices. It is supported on Amazon Fire tablet readers and most e-reader devices that are compatible with Adobe Digital Editions.)
Use your Butler Libraries credentials to log into cloudLibrary and start reading, reserving, or listening today.
If you have any questions, reach out to your librarians at either campus.
You can easily request library materials from other libraries.
If you are looking for an item that is not in our collection, we can borrow it from another library through a service called inter-library loan (ILL). ILL allows us to borrow articles, books, movies, and more from other libraries around the country.
You can fill out a form either on-site or online. You can access the form through the following link: https://butlercc.libwizard.com/f/illrequest. You can also access this form by navigating to the "Interlibrary Loan" link on our homepage.
The more detailed the form, the better. You will hear back from a librarian about your ILL request through your preferred form of contact indicated on the form.
Most ILL take between 1-2 weeks to arrive.
Please return items by the due dates stated on the items. Failure to return materials by their due date will suspend future ILL borrowing privileges.
You can return borrowed materials to either location, either at our circulation desks or book drops.
ILL are not guaranteed renewals; the decision to renew the item is at the discretion of the library that owns the item. Contact us if you have any questions or would like to renew an item.
Lost materials, damaged materials, and overdue fines are the responsibility of the borrower.
You can access a variety of databases from the Kansas State Library using your Butler credentials.
To create your username and password:
To access the following databases, you will need to sign up for a Kansas Library card. Visit us in El Dorado or Andover with proof of residency, such as a driver's license or utility bill, to get signed up.
Upon signing up, you will receive a six-digit card number that will grant you access to the State Library of Kansas' online resources. Kansas Library cards expire three years from the date issued but can be renewed at Butler Libraries and Archives or any Kansas library.
From the Chronicle:
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
All Butler faculty have free access to The Chronicle of Higher Education. To get started, click the link below and follow the steps to create your account. Accounts must be created with your Butler email for full access.
Chronicle of Higher Education - Off Campus & Mobile Access (Full access to all articles.)
In addition to the Wall Street Journal, Butler employees have complimentary access to a New York Times subscription. However, access does not include e-reader editions, Times Insider content, or digital versions of The New York Times Crossword.