Skip to Main Content
Skip to Main Content

APA Citation Guide

Butler's guide to APA citations

General Information - Articles

FORMATTING ARTICLES ON YOUR REFERENCES PAGE

Articles from Databases: In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. At the end of the citation include the DOI (digital object identifier - a unique code for the article) number to indicate an online article. If there is no DOI number assigned to the article, give the URL of the journal, magazine, or newspaper home page. Generally speaking, you'll need to do a Google search to find the periodical's home page.

Other formatting requirements:

  • Your entire paper, including your References page, should be double-spaced.
  • Alphabetize your References list by the first word of the citation (usually the author's last name).
  • Indent the second & following lines of the citation 0.5 inches (a hanging indent).
  • Multiple authors:
    • For 2-20 authors, your list of names will look like this: Wingert, P., Smith, J., & Brown, P.
    • More than 20 authors: provide the first nineteen authors, an ellipsis, and the final author. For example, see below.
  • Only capitalize the first word of the document title. If there is a colon in the title, capitalize the first word after the colon.
  • Italicize the title of the magazine or journal.  Also, italicize the volume number - but do not italicize the issue number.
  • Include a page range whenever available. (A page range might not be available for online publications.) In the complete citations on your References page, do not put p. or pp. in front of the page range for journal or magazine articles.
  • If you are citing an electronic article, do not include a period after the DOI number or URL.
  • Dates: Use n.d. (no date) when a publication date is not available.
  • No retrieval date is needed.

Scholarly Journal Article

A Note about DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers): There are two DOI formats. The older format is simply a number, and is included in the citation as doi:number. (There is no space between the colon and the number.) The newer format is in the form of a URL and starts with http://doi.org/, and is included as-is at the end of the citation (do not put "doi" or "Retrieved from" in front of it). For more information about DOI formatting, see the APA Style Blog.

PRINT JOURNAL

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), Page(s). 

Hallin, D. C. (2008). Sound bite news. Journal of Communication, 42(2), 5-24.

ARTICLE FROM DATABASE (HAS DOI)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), Page(s). doi:number

Crum-Cianflone, N. F., Powell, T. M., LeardMann, C. A., Russell, D. W., & Bokyo, E. J. (2016). Mental health and comorbidities in U.S. military members. Military Medicine, (181)6, 537-545. https://doi.org/10.7205/MILMED-D-15-00187

ARTICLE WITH NEW DOI FORMAT

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume if available(Issue if available). DOI

Gupta, A., Daigle, S., Mojica, J., & Hurley, R. W. (2009). Patient perception of pain care in hospitals in the United States. Journal of Pain Research, 2. http://doi.org/10.2147/JPR.S7903

ARTICLE FROM DATABASE (DOES NOT HAVE DOI)

Last Name, First Intial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue), Page(s). URL of journal home page

Vandenbussche, H. (2000). Trade policy versus competition policy: Substitutes or complements? De Economist, 148(5), 625-642.  http://link.springer.com/journal/10645

ARTICLE FROM ONLINE JOURNAL (NOT IN DATABASE)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume if available(Issue if available).  Full article URL

Abel, M. (2016). Relevant interdisciplinary: Taking the art history classroom to the field. Peregrinations: Journal of Medieval Art & Architecture, 5(3). Retrieved from http://peregrinations.kenyon.edu/vol5_3/AbelPeregrinations53.pdf

ARTICLE WITH MORE THAN 21 AUTHORS

Include the first 19 authors, an ellipsis, and the last author. Your citation should not list more than 20 authors!

Author, A., Author, B., Author, C., Author, D., Author, E., Author, F. Author, G. Author, H., Author, I., Author, J. Author, K., Author, L., Author, M., Author, N., Author, O. Author, P. Author, Q., Author, R., Author, S.,...Author, Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume if available(Issue if available), Page range if available. DOI or URL

Pegion, K., Kirtman, B. P., Becker, E., Collins, D. C., LaJoie, E., Burgman, R., Bell, R., DelSole, R., Min, D., Zhu, Y., Li, W., Sinsky, E., Guan, H., Gottschalck, J., Metzger, E. J., Barton, N. P., Achuthavarier, D., Marshak, J., Koster, R., . . .  Kim, H. (2019). The subseasonal experiment (SubX): A multimodel subseasonal prediction experiment. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society100(10), 2043-2061. https://doi.org/10.1175/BAMS-D-18-0270.1

Magazine Articles

PRINT MAGAZINE

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume if available(Issue if available), Page(s).

Kaczynski, D. (2016, January/February). My brother, the Unabomber. Psychology Today, 49(1), 68-76.

ARTICLE FROM DATABASE (HAS DOI)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of MagazineVolume if available(Issue if available), Pages. doi:number

Liew, C. L., & Cheetham, F. (2016, July/August). Participatory culture in memory institutions: Of diversity, ethics and trust? D-Lib Magazine, 22(7/8). https://doi.org/10.1045/july2016-liew

ARTICLE FROM DATABASE (DOES NOT HAVE DOI)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of MagazineVolume if available(issue if available), pages. URL of magazine home page

Dolesh, R. J. (2016, April). Parks saving the monarch. Parks & Recreation, 51(4), 52-57.http://www.parksandrecreation.org/

ARTICLE FROM MAGAZINE WEBSITE

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume if available(Issue if available). Full article URL

Dockterman, E. (2016, April 5). Twitter will stream football games for free this year. Time. http://time.com/4281944/twitter-nfl-games-stream-thursday-nights/

Note: The following example is from an online magazine that uses only issue numbers, but no volume numbers. According to the APA Style Blog, an issue number would not be included in this case.

Shaer, M. (2015, September). Whatsoever things are true. The Atavist Magazine. https://read.atavist.com/whatsoever-things-are-true

Newspaper Article

NOTE: For your References page, the page ranges in newspaper articles get a p. (for one page) or pp. (for multiple pages). You should not include p. or pp. in front of the page ranges for journal or magazine articles listed on your References page.

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE - PRINT

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, p(p). Page(s).

Clements, J. (2016, July 30). A new training tool: College, city dedicate new fire training tower. The Butler County Times-Gazette, pp. A1, A5.

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE FROM DATABASE

Last Name, First Initital(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, p(p). Page(s). URL of newspaper home page

Clements, J. (2013, August 20). A record setting auction: Sundgren sells more than 9,000 in land auction. The El Dorado Times, p. A8.

http://www.butlercountytimesgazette.com/

ARTICLE FROM NEWSPAPER WEBSITE

Last Name, First Initital(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of NewspaperRetrieved from Full article URL

Fernandes, R. (2016, April 4). Nearly half of students are open to free-speech restrictions on campuses, survey finds. The Chronicle of Higher Education. http://chronicle.com/blogs/ticker/nearly-half-of-students-are-open-to-free-speech-restrictions-on-campuses-survey-finds/110015