Chicago Citation Guide

Below are examples for citing articles in the Notes-Bibliography Chicago style. The examples here include the formula for the citation, an example of the citation, an example of the footnote citation, and an example of the shortened footnote citation. 

For sources with multiple authors:

• For sources with two to three authors, list the first and last names for all three authors in the footnotes.

Two authors Footnote: John Smith and Jane A. Jones

Two authors Shortened note: Smith and Jones

Three authors Footnote: John Smith, Jane A. Jones, and Shane Roberts

Three authors Shortened note: Smith, Jones, and Roberts

For sources with four or more authors, use "et al." after the first author's name. 

In the Bibliography, list up to 10 authors with their full names. If there are 11 or more authors, list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by "et al."

Bibliography:

Arieff, Sainunisha, Sandeep Kaur, Hajirah Gameeldien, Lize van der Merwe, and Vladimir B. Najic. "5-HTTLPR
     Polymorphism: Analysis in South African Autistic Individuals." Human Biology 82, no. 3 (2010): 291-300.
     https://www.muse.jhu.edu/article/389562. 

A note on journal titles: journal titles may omit an initial article (such as "The") but should otherwise have the full title. 

PRINT JOURNAL 

Bibliography:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Name volume, issue no. (Month or Season Year): page range. 

Kouros, Chrystyna D., Megan M. Pruitt, Naomi V. Ekas, Romilyn Kiriaki, and Megan Sunderland. "Helicopter Parenting, Autonomy Support, and College Students' Mental Health and Well-being: The Moderating Role of Sex and Ethnicity." Journal of Child and Family Studies 26, no. 3 (2016): 939-949. 

Footnote: 

Author First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Name volume, issue no. (Month or Season Year): page number(s). 

1. Chrystyna D. Kouros et al., "Helicopter Parenting, Autonomy Support, and College Students' Mental Health and Well-being: The Moderating Role of Sex and Ethnicity," Journal of Child and Family Studies 26, no. 3 (2016): 939-949. 

Shortened Footnote (to be used if you have already introduced the source and are citing the same source again):

Author Last Name, "Shortened Title," Page number(s). 

2. Kouros et al., "Helicopter Parenting," 943. 

JOURNAL FROM A DATABASE

Bibliography:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Name volume, issue no. (Month or Season Year): page range. Database Name or DOI or URL.

De Prada, Elena, Mercedes Mareque, and Margarita Pino-Juste. "Teamwork Skills in Higher Education: Is University Training Contributing to their Mastery?" Psicologia: Reflexão E Crítica 35, no. 1 (February 10, 2022): NA. Gale Academic OneFile. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A692810055/AONE?u=klnb_bucc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=f9f94741.

Footnote: 

Author First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Name volume, issue no. (Month or Season Year): page number(s). Database Name or DOI or URL.

3. Elena De Prada, Mercedes Mareque, and Margarita Pino-Juste, "Teamwork Skills in Higher Education: Is University Training Contributing to their Mastery?," Psicologia: Reflexão E Crítica 35, no. 1 (February 10, 2022): 1-15, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A692810055/AONE?u=klnb_bucc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=f9f94741.

Shortened Footnote (to be used if you have already introduced the source and are citing the same source again):

Author Last Name, "Shortened Title," Page number(s). 

4. De Prada, Mareque, and Pino-Juste, "Teamwork Skills," 3.

PRINT MAGAZINE

Bibliography: 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Date, page range. 

Gogarty, Larne Abse. "Art & Gentrification." Art Monthly, February 2014, 7-9. 

Footnote: 

Author First Name Last Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Date, page number. 

5. Larne Abse Gogarty. "Art & Gentrification." Art Monthly, February 2014, 7. 

Shortened Footnote: 

6. Gogarty, "Art & Gentrification," 7. 

ONLINE MAGAZINE

Bibliography: 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Date, URL. 

Laurent, Olivier. "The Messages That Hold Refugee Families Together." TIME, March 28, 2016, https://time.com/4272666/refugees-stories-whatsapp/.

Footnote: 

Author First Name Last Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Date, URL. 

7. Olivier Laurent. "The Messages That Hold Refugee Families Together." TIME, March 28, 2016, https://time.com/4272666/refugees-stories-whatsapp/.

Shortened Footnote:

8. Laurent, "The Messages." 

General Information on Newspaper Articles:

Typically, Notes-Bibliography citations for newspaper have the following format:

Name of author, headline or column heading, newspaper name, month, day, and year.

There are some additional notes for newspaper citations:

• Page numbers are usually omitted. 
• If the article is online, the URL should be added at the end of the citation.
• Time stamps may be required if the article is edited or updated and information is modified and events unfold. 
• If the name of a newspaper begins with "The", the word is omitted. American newspapers that are not well-known should include the city name along with the newspaper title, and a state abbreviation may be added I the parentheses after the city name. 
• News services, such as the United Press International or the Associated Press, are capitalized but not italicized and often appear in the author position of the citation. 
• Headlines may be capitalized using headline case, which capitalizes all major words in the headline. 
  • Although major newspapers tend to prefer sentence style, the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) recommends headline style for consistency across various types of cited sources. 
  • Headlines that are originally in full capital letters are typically converted to headline case. 
• If a regular column is cited, the column name can be included with the article title. 
• Editorials, Letters to the Editor, and Readers' Comments are treated in a more general manner, usually without headlines. Instead of a title, use "Letter to the Editor" or "Readers' Comments" in its place.

Bibliography: 

Frey, Chad. "History of Oil in El Dorado to be Celebrated." Butler County Times Gazette (El Dorado, KS), Mar. 29, 2022, A1.

Footnote: 

9. Chad Frey, "History of Oil in El Dorado to be Celebrated," Butler County Times Gazette (El Dorado, KS), Mar. 29, 2022, A1.

Shortened Footnote:

10. Frey, "History of Oil," A1.