Chicago Citation Guide

For books with multiple authors, use the following guidelines. 

For a book with two authors:

First Author Last Name, First Name and Second Author First Name Last Name. Year. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher. 

For a book with three authors:

First Author Last Name, First Name, Second Author First Name Last Name, Third Author First Name Last Name. Year. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher. 

For a book with four or more authors, include all authors in the reference list entry. In the text, however, use the first author's last name followed by "et al." the date, and page number.

This section is for citing an entire print book. For citing a chapter of a book, please see the "Chapter in a Book" section below this section. 

For book citations, no page numbers are required for the Reference List entry. However, in in-text citations that give credit to a specific passage or quote in a source, a page number is required. 

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, First Name. Year Published. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. 

Grigoriadias, Vanessa. 2018. Blurred Lines: Rethinking Sex, Power, and Consent on Campus. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number). 

(Grigoriadias 2018, 118)

CHAPTER FROM A BOOK

• This citation is for a chapter of a book. For the citation for a chapter of an edited book, collection, or anthology, see the next section.

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year Published. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, page range. Place of Publication: Publisher. 

Grigoriadis, Vanessa. 2018. "The Fixer." In Blurred Lines: Rethinking Sex, Power, and Consent on Campus, 176-197. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number)

(Grigoriadis 2018, 184)

Due to the format of eBooks, stable page numbers are not always provided. In such cases, the number of the chapter, section, or other locator may be required for the citation. 

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, First Name. Year Published. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. Medium or Database. URL (optional).

Langley, Travis. 2012. Batman and Psychology: A Dark and Stormy Knight. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. EBSCOHost. 

In-Text citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, chapter or page number). 

(Langley 2012).

EDITED COLLECTION

• This citation is for citing the entire edited collection. For citing only a chapter of an edited collection, see the "Chapter from an Edited Book or Collection" entry further down this page. 

Reference Entry:

Editor Last Name, First Name, ed. Year Published. Title of Collection. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Yaszek, Lisa, editor. 2018. The Future is Female!: 25 Classic Science Fiction Stories by Women, from Pulp Pioneers to Ursula K. Le Guin. New York: Library of America.

In-Text Citation:

(Editor Last Name Year Published, page numbers). 

(Yaszek 2018, 47)

CHAPTER OF AN EDITED BOOK OR COLLECTION

Reference Entry:

Chapter's Author's Last Name, First Name. Year Published. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Collection, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, page range. Place of Publication: Publisher. 

Marlowe, Christopher. 2017. "The Tragical History of Doctor Faustus." In The Norton Anthology of Drama, edited by J. Ellen Gainor, Stanton B. Garner, and Martin Puchner, 666-704. New York: W. W. Norton & Company. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author's Last Name Year Published, page numbers)

(Marlowe 2017, 694)

TRANSLATED BOOK

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year Published. Title of Book. Translated by Translator First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher. 

Allende, Isabel. 2020. A Long Petal of the Sea. Translated by Nick Caistor and Amanda Hopkinson. New York: Ballantine Books. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page numbers)

(Allende 2020, 139)

Audiobooks

Citation formatting for audiobooks varies, as it depends on the information provided with the audiobook version. In some cases, there may not be a city to list - in this case, list the publisher or company that produced the audio and the source where the audiobook is contained, such as Audible or LibriVox. 

Reference Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Year Published. Title of Book. Read by Narrator's First Name Last Name. City: Publisher. Medium, running time. 

Clear, James. 2018. Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones. Read by James Clear. Penguin Audio: Audible, 5 hours 35 minutes.  

In-Text citation:

(Author Last Name Year)

(Clear 2018)