Chicago Citation Guide

This is for citing an entire print book. For citing a chapter of a print book, please see the "Chapter in a Book" section further down this page.

The general format for print books in Notes-Bibliography Chicago style is as follows: 

Bibliography:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication. 

Campbell, Joseph. The Hero with a Thousand Faces, 3rd ed. Novato, California: New World Library, 2008.

Footnote:

First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number. 

1. Joseph Campbell, The Hero with a Thousand Faces, 3rd ed. (Novato, California: New World Library, 2008), 123. 

Shortened Footnote:

2. Campbell, The Hero, 123. 

 

Book with two or more authors: 

Bibliography: 

First Author Last Name, First Name, and Second Author First Name Last Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Cuauhtémoc, César, and García Hernández. Migrating to Prison: America's Obsession with Locking up Immigrants. New York: New Press, 2019.

Footnote:

First Author's First Name Last Name and Second Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number or range. 

3. César Cuauhtémoc and García Hernández, Migrating to Prison: America's Obsession with Locking up Immigrants (New York: New Press, 2019), 48.

Shortened Footnote:

4. Cuauhtémoc and Hernández, Migrating to Prison, 48. 

A note on eBooks: stable page numbers are not always available or provided in e-format sources; therefore, the number of the chapter, section, or other locator (such as Kindle's location number) may be required. 

Bibliography:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL.

Harmon, Joseph E., and Alan G. Gross. The Craft of Scientific Communication. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010. https://dc3.agverso.com/details?key=13241&agcn=267446&cid=DC3&lid=BUTLERCC. 

Footnote:

First Name Last Name, Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), [Page number]. URL. 

5. Joseph E. Harmon and Alan G. Gross,The Craft of Scientific Communication, (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010), 37. https://dc3.agverso.com/details?key=13241&agcn=267446&cid=DC3&lid=BUTLERCC. 

Shortened Footnote:

6. Harmon and Gross, The Craft, 37.

General Information:

• In footnotes for sources that have editors or translators, Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) prefers the abbreviations of editors as "ed." for one editor or "eds." for multiple editors and the abbreviation "trans." for translators. However, abbreviations are not used in the bibliographic entries. 

EDITED BOOK

Bibliography:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Edited by Editor First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft. The Annotated Frankenstein. Edited by Susan J. Wolfson and Ronald Levao. Cambridge, Mass: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2012. 

Footnote:

Author First Name Last Name, Title of Book, ed. Editor First Name Last Name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number.

7. Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, The Annotated Frankenstein, ed. Susan J. Wolfson and Ronald Levao (Cambridge, Mass: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2012), 204. 

Shortened Footnote: 

8. Shelley, The Annotated, 204. 

 

TRANSLATED BOOKS

Bibliography:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Translated by Translator First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Carpentier, Alejo. The Kingdom of This World. Translated by Harriet de Onís. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2006. Originally published as El Reino de Este Mundo (n.p.: Edición y Distribución Iberoamericana de Publicaciones, 1949). 

Footnote:

Author First Name Last Name, Title of Book, trans. Translator First Name Last Name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number or range.

9. Alejo Carpentier, The Kingdom of This World, trans. Harriet de Onís (New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2006), 37-42, originally published as El Reino de Este Mundo (n.p.: Edición y Distribución Iberoamericana de Publicaciones, 1949). 

Shortened Footnote:

10. Carpentier, The Kingdom, 37-42.

 

A note on chapters from a single-authored work: emphasis for these citations varies. In some cases you may be emphasizing the entire collection in the bibliographic entry, whereas in other cases you may be emphasizing the chapter from the collection. Both emphasis formats are provided below.

Bibliography (No Emphasis)

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book or Collection, page range of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Bibliography (With Emphasis on Entire Collection)

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Collection, page range of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. See esp. chapter number, "Title of Chapter."

Footnote (regardless of emphasis):

Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Collection (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number or rage.

 

CHAPTER FROM A BOOK

Bibliography:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, page numbers of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Campbell, Joseph."Master of the Two Worlds." In The Hero with a Thousand Faces, 3rd ed., 196-205. Novato, California: New World Library, 2008.

Footnote:

11. Joseph Campbell, "Master of the Two Worlds," In The Hero with a Thousand Faces, 3rd ed., 196-205, (Novato, California: New World Library, 2008).

Shortened Footnote:

12. Campbell, "Master of the Two Worlds," 199. 

 

CHAPTER FROM AN EDITED COLLECTION

• With works by a single author that appear in a book for collected edition of a book that contains multiple authors, the contributing author is cited first, followed by their work and then the collection information. 

Bibliography:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Collection, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, page numbers of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Aurelius, Marcus. "Meditations." In The Oxford Anthology of Roman Literature, edited by Peter E. Knox and J.C. McKeown, 586-602. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.

Footnote:

Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Collection, ed. Editor First Name Last Name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), Page range. 

13. Marcus Aurelius, "Meditations," in The Oxford Anthology of Roman Literature, ed. Peter E. Knox and J.C. McKeown (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013), 592. 

Shortened Footnote:

14. Aurelius, "Meditations," in The Oxford Anthology, 592.

If the author and the reader of the audiobook are the same, replace "read by" with "read by the author". 

Bibliography:

Last name, First name. Title of Audiobook. Read by First Name Last Name. City: Publisher, Year Published. Medium, running time. 

King, Stephen. On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft. Read by Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Owen King. Simon & Schuster Audio, 2000. Audible, 9 hours 7 minutes. 

Footnote:

First Name Last Name, Title of Audiobook, read by First Name Last Name (City: Publisher, Year Published), medium, running time. 

15. Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft, read by Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Owen King. (Simon & Schuster Audio, 2000), Audible, 9 hours 7 minutes.