Chicago Citation Guide

Below are examples for citing articles in the Author-Date Chicago style. The examples here include the formula for the citation, an example of the citation, and examples of the in-text citations. 

Here are some general rules and guidelines for citing articles in Author-Date Chicago-style. 

• For articles that are consulted online, include a URL, DOI, or the name of the database the reference list entry. 
• If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the reference list. In the text, list the first author followed by "et al."
• For more than ten authors, list the first seven in the reference list, followed by "et al."

PRINT JOURNAL

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, First Name. Year Published. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue no. (Month or Season Published): page range.

Parsons, Jennifer. 2013. "Student Athlete Perceptions of Academic Success and Athlete Stereotypes on Campus." Journal of Sport Behavior 36, no. 4, (December): 400-416. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number(s). 

(Parsons 2013, 408).

JOURNAL FROM A DATABASE

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal vol number, issue no (Date): page(s). DOI, URL, or Database. 

de Sá Silva, Fernando, Paula Nascimento Almeida, Paes Rettore João Vitor, Pereira Maranduba Claudinéia, de Souza Camila Maurmann, Gustavo Torres de Souza, Rafaella de Souza Salomão Zanette, Harumi Miyagi Sueli Patricia, and Marcelo de Oliveira Santos. 2012. "Toward Personalized Cell Therapies by using Stem Cells: Seven Relevant Topics for Safety and Success in Stem Cell Therapy." Journal of Biomedicine and Biotechnology 2012: 1-12. https://doi.org/10.1155/2012/758102. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year, page number)

(de Sá Silva et al. 2012, 6)

• It can be helpful to repeat the year with sources that are also cited by month and day.
• Page numbers can be used in the in-text citations, but they are omitted from the reference list entry.
• If the article came from an online source, include a URL or the name of the database. 

PRINT MAGAZINE

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, First Name. Year Published. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date Published. 

Koeppel, Dan. 2010. "Well Bred: Making a Case for Genetic Modification." Organic Gardening, Oct. 20, 2010. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number). 

(Koeppel 2010, 2)

ONLINE MAGAZINE

• If your online magazine article comes from a database, provide the database and permalink at the end of the citation. If your online magazine article comes from a web magazine, provide the URL at the end of the citation. 

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, First Name. Year Published. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date Published. Database or URL. 

Foster, John Bellamy and Brett Clark. 2021. "The Capitalinian: The First Geological Age of the Anthropocene." Monthly Review, 09, 1-16. https://doi.org/10.14452/MR-073-04-2021-08_1.

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number if provided).

(Foster and Clark 2021, 5)

• If the newspaper does not have an author, the title of the newspaper stands in place of the author. 

PRINT NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year Published. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date.

Reynolds, Gretchen. 2021. "Physical Activity and Aging Brains: [Science Desk]." New York Times, December 07, 2021. 

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number)

(Reynolds 2021, 2)

ONLINE NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

• Online articles can come from different places and the citations differs depending on the original source. If your newspaper comes from a database, list the database at the end of the citation. If your newspaper article comes from an online newspaper on the web, include the URL at the end of the citation. 

Reference Entry:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year Published. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date. Database or URL. 

US Federal News Service, Including US State News. 2021. "Clinical Trial: Accuracy and Stability of a New Automatic Knee Arthrometer in Diagnosing ACL Rupture." July 10, 2021. https://butlerlib.butlercc.edu/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/clinical-trial-accuracy-stability-new-automatic/docview/2549848353/se-2?accountid=40640.

In-Text Citation:

(Author Last Name Year Published, page number if provided)

(US Federal News Service, Including US State News 2021)